My New Pencil Bag!

Update: My pencil bag has been featured as a part of this list!! Go and check it out, you won’t be disappointed! 🙂

Hello, everyone! In my last post, I mentioned that I had plans for a pencil bag. Well today, I am going to show you how I made my TOMS bag into a lined, boxy pencil bag! I kept seeing the ones on Pinterest that were just regular flat pencil bags, but I love the box style, so I set out to make it without much of a guide. To make my Lined TOMS Pencil Bag, you will need: a TOMS bag, lining fabric of your choice, zipper, pins, scissors, and a sewing machine or needle and thread.

IMG_1649
The first thing I did was square up my lining fabric. The edges were a little uneven, but I couldn’t find my rotary cutter, so I just used shears. I still haven’t found it. And the blade is getting dull. Bummer.

IMG_1651
I then centered my lining fabric on top of the TOMS logo so I could cut the bag to size.
I lined up each piece of lining, wrong sides together, with an outer piece and pinned it to keep it from sliding while I pinned and sewed the zipper in place.

IMG_1652

It wasn’t until after I stitched the first side that I realized the zipper should have been sandwiched between the lining and the outer piece.

IMG_1653
Since it is for my personal use, I just sucked it up and kept rolling with the punches, as they say. I also went ahead and pinned and stitched the bottom since there wasn’t the convenience of a fold. So now we have this:

IMG_1654
Then, I moved the zipper pull out of harm’s way, flattened the “bag”, and stitched the “sides”. Cut off the excess zipper, and this could be a finished bag, if you wanted!

IMG_1655
But I didn’t. So now, I can measure and pin my edges for the boxy shape that I want. after stitching them in place, I cut off the excess fabric with pinking shears to help prevent fraying. IMG_1656
And here is the finished bag! As you can see, the letters are cut off, but I love this bag. It’s adorable, I made it, and it didn’t cost me anything extra in supplies. The lining fabric is a cotton print from a grab bag I found at Goodwill.

IMG_1657

IMG_1658

IMG_1659
What? You want to see actual supplies in it? Darn…I mean, okay!

IMG_1665
Oh, by the way, here’s a shot of my pen collection…most of them, I mean. I grouped them by color just for you, my dear readers! I have a partial pack of pens in my drawer, along with several strays laying around in my room, but this is the bulk of it!

IMG_1661

ALSO. I wanted to show you what I decided to put in my “Kit” I was talking about in my last post. Again, go to the link in that post for the full details on it, and I promise, you will love her blog!

IMG_1666

Everything fits nicely in this Arbonne makeup bag. I have no idea where I got this from, but I’m pretty sure someone gave it to me.

IMG_1667

Thanks so much (as always) for reading!

signature

2 thoughts on “My New Pencil Bag!

Leave a comment