DIY Notebooks {Back to School 2013}

My goodness, how exciting! I get to write a post and publish it when I get done, instead of it being super late at night and I just schedule it for the next day…..

Anyway, isn’t it exciting that school starts up again soon? I start classes next Thursday, and I will finally see what it’s like to work part time and go to school full time (opposite of my dad right now, how funny!). Today, I wanted to share with you the notebooks I finished up a couple of days ago.

You need fabric, scrapbook paper, ribbon, mod podge, a brush, scissors, and any other embellishments you want to use. Oh, and spray adhesive, if you have it. I rarely buy it because it’s hard to find cheap sometimes, but I got it at JoAnn with a coupon since I love using it so much!

IMG_1672

I started by snipping the ribbon off of a jelly roll I made months ago. I arranged the strips in a sort of design and used spray adhesive to apply them to the notebook cover. Then, I sprayed some on the inside cover and folded over the excess fabric.

IMG_1673

IMG_1674

IMG_1675

Here are all four notebooks that I did. The top two are fabric, and the bottom two are scrapbook papers.

IMG_1676

And now, here they all are with ribbons added. (again with spray adhesive)

 

IMG_1678

Then, I coated the front of each notebook with mod podge. I printed out cute little monogram (made in MS Word), and stuck them to the front of each notebook.

IMG_1679

Then I remembered I had this wonderful stuff….

IMG_1681

And now, I have one shimmery notebook! The next day, I added another coat of mod podge to all of the notebooks. I did not take a picture of the finished notebooks, because they look like they do above, just with monograms. I used a matte mod podge as well.

IMG_1682

Leave a Reply

