Closet Makeover

 

In all honesty, I should have written this post a long time ago. For some reason, I kept thinking I did. Then, I kept putting it off because of school or work. But today, I finally had a little time to sit down and type this one out: my closet makeover. My closet has been in a state of disarray for several years, and has only just now become more easily managed and it stays clean longer! Go figure!

I took a trip to the container store (after browsing online) and picked up a few things. In all I spent about $40. The first thing I took care of was my major shoe issue. I had too many pairs. So, I went through and tossed all the beat up pairs that I can’t weat anymore. I actually bought this shoe organizer from WalMart about a year ago for $5. DSCN4544

Next, I have some before shots for your entertainment…

I thought storing my scarves like that would work, but it just looks messy.DSCN4546

This dresser became a crap catcher pretty quickly, so I moved it.

DSCN4547

This poor dresser became a crap catcher as well, so I moved it out of my closet completely.

DSCN4548

My messy shelf….(thank god you can’t see the full extent unlike the earlier photo)

DSCN4552

Here’s the closet totally emptied out. Well, except for the black dresser in its new location.

DSCN4598

I chose to cover the main wall with wrapping paper from Marshalls ($2!) and some pink tissue paper I already had, along with some more wrapping paper (probably also from Marshalls at some point). I didn’t worry about getting the edges perfectly straight/even because it would all be covered with clothes anyway.

DSCN4599

Here, you can see what I bought at the container store: a sweater organizer and a double hang closet rod. These two additions were MAJOR lifesavers!

DSCN4600

 

I took a picture tonight of the finished closet because I never took one! It’s a little dark, but you can see that I ended up moving the double hang rod to the other side. It works better towards the front. The sweater organizer holds my camis/raceback tanks, some sweaters, all of my scarves, and some blankets. I also swapped out the majority of my hangers with green and grey velvet hangers I picked up on two separate occasions from two different Marshalls stores. You can also see my bin of sewing patterns and my pink zebra print fabric bin that holds misc. cords and all of the device cases I am not currently using. The bag on top of the dresser is a JoAnn reusable bag and it holds all of my leftover hangers.

IMG_2225

 

Thanks so much for reading and I hope you like my closet makeover!

signature

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

