Wash Day {1/19/15}

This week I had some dreadful oily hair to deal with and some breakage, so I know I definitely needed a good shampoo and some protein. I took theย evening to really give my hair some attention before school starts up this week.

IMG_3765

– I started out by prepooing my hair with my DIY cayenne pepper mix: it’s simply grapeseed oil, cayenne pepper, and conditioner. My bottle of Ogx Awapuhi Ginger is almost done, so I was singing the praises of the big bottle of CVS Conditioner I bought a couple of months or so ago and squeezed to my heart’s content. I mixed this for a few minutes until it finally came together into one smooth creamy mix, and applied it with my tint brush. I had a few bandages on my hands to cover some little cuts (kinda sorta bad allergic reaction to the last manicure I had done), and used my hands to massage the mixture in some. I could feel the tingling as I sat to draft this very post, actually ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_3770

IMG_3775

– After fifteen minutes, I rinsed out my prepoo and shampooed with Ogx Moroccan Argan Oil Shampoo. I have gotten three washes out of that little trial bottle so far! #newstapleproduct

– I applied a Hask Henna N Placenta packet for some protein and deep conditioning. It seemed as if my hair didn’t get much from it upon application, so I decided to take my chances and dump another pack onto my head and rubbed it around a little. I could actually cup the back hair into a teeny pony tail ๐Ÿ˜‰ I left this on for about 20 minutes.

– I rinsed my DC out in the shower and then t-shirt dried for 10 or 15 minutes. I don’t need long, and I like to have the water still on my hair for LOC-ing.

-I sectioned my hair and applied Shea Moisture Curl and Style Milk, Cantu Coconut Curl Creme, and some Hask Argan Oil Treatment mixed with coconut oil to my hair. I used a bit of gel on each little section and set my hair on perm rods for the night. In the morning, I took them out, fluffed my hair with my comb, rubbed a smidge more gel throughout to loosen it up some, and went to class! I only got one picture later in the evening after I got home.

IMG_3783

The Wash Day Experience

Thanks so much for reading!

signature

4 thoughts on “Wash Day {1/19/15}

    • Natasha @ Sew Short and Crafty says:

      Definitely read up on it! I saw an article on it awhile ago, and did some research, and then I saw it was an ingredient in the popular Hair Trigger Elixir! Cayenne pepper went on sale for $0.88 at CVS about a month or so ago and I decided to try it and see what happens.

    • Natasha @ Sew Short and Crafty says:

      No it doesn’t ๐Ÿ™‚ I mix it thoroughly into the oil and conditioner and I rinse this particular step in the kitchen sink! The first time I tried cayenne pepper, however, I did just wet my hair and sprinkle it in and ended up feeling like my whole body was on fire after that shower! As my boyfriend put it, I “marinated myself like Thanksgiving turkey”!

Leave a Reply

